Skip Navigation
Welcome to the website for the town of East Bridgewater, Massachusetts

This table is used for column layout.

About Our Town
Town Departments
Boards and Committees
Town Calendars
Important Links
School District
Online Bill Payment
Gov TV Bulletin Board
Subscribe to News
Contact Us
Home Page
Town Seal
Site  This Folder
 
Advanced Search
 
Selectmen minutes December 22, 2003
The weekly meeting of the Board of Selectmen was held on Monday evening, December 22, 2003 at 7:33 p.m.

Present: James M. Hardy, Chairman; Eric W. Greene, Clerk; David L. Walsh
George Samia, Interim Executive Secretary
Karen Grabau, Adm. Assistant

Appointment

Charles Muise, Kiwanis Club President, met with the Board to announce the winners of the Christmas Tree Decorating Contest. Noted that there were originally 27 entrants and 23 of them decorated their trees; the contest was kept open for the week as the snow storm canceled out the planned activities.

Christmas on the Common, 2003 - Tree Decorating Contest Winners

Adult Category
1st prize - MOMS Club of E.B.
2nd prize - E.B. Commercial Club
3rd prize - E.B. Council on Aging

Youth Category
1st prize - Kids Castle Kingdom
2nd prize - G.S. Troop 703
3rd prize - Pack 28

Special Award
Founders Prize - Brownie Troop 397
Baystate Colony Prize - Cadet Troop #1240
Community Prize - Support Our Troops
Governor's Prize - DARE

Honorable Mention
Soccer
G.S. Troop 343
E.B. Learning Express

Mr. Muise noted that Pack 28, Soccer and G.S. Troop 343 decorated their trees during the snowstorm. Thanked everyone who had taken the time to decorate their trees.

M/Greene, s/Walsh, move to approve the minutes of the December 15, 2003 meeting.
VOTE: Yes - Hardy, Walsh; Abstain - Greene; a majority vote in favor.

Appointment
John Haines, Highway Surveyor/Tree Warden met with the Board to update them on the snow removal efforts during the snowstorms.

Mr. Haines acknowledged the work done by the town employees who worked for 48 hours straight during the weekend storm from December 5-7. Noted that they began work on Friday evening at 7:30 p.m. and finally went home at 7:30 p.m. on Sunday. Stated that all major roads were kept open for emergency vehicles and that secondary roads were kept plowed as best they could. Noted that town had between 24 and 27 inches of snow. Also acknowledged the work by contractors Lil' Dryden, Coots Bros. and Silva Construction; explained that all three companies called him and offered their equipment to assist in the clearing of town after storm was over.


Board of Selectmen -2- December 22, 2003

Mr. Haines noted that with the two storms, the town's snow removal account is now $60,000 over budget.

A discussion was held on the various equipment used for snow removal; problems with clearing side streets.

John Keefe informed the Board that in his work he traveled through several towns on the Monday after the storm and that East Bridgewater and Holbrook were the only towns with passable roads.

OPEN FORUM

Peter Hamilton, Finance Committee, informed the Board that the School Committee would begin their Budget Meetings; requested that the impact statements be placed on the town's web page, after all have been received ; noted deadline for impact statements was January 15. It was also noted that the Finance Committee and Board of Selectmen would begin meeting weekly to discuss all budgets.

Board requested that level funded budget amount be placed at beginning of each impact statement and requested Mr. Samia to provide information relative to the budgets to the Board.

John Keefe spoke to the Board regarding a homeland security grant which the Board of Health is applying for. Questioned whether they need Town Meeting approval before they apply for the grant. After discussion, it was agreed that as no matching funds are needed from the Town, that the Board of Health could proceed with their application.

Open Forum closed.

M/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the renewal of the following Entertainment Licenses for the period of January 1, 2004 - December 31, 2004:

Brendan's Pub
James Brendan Barlow, Manager
579 West Street

Northeast Cinemas LLC dba East Bridgewater 6
225 Bedford Street

m/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the renewal of the following Automatic Amusement Licenses for the period of January 1, 2004 to December 31, 2004:

Brendan's Pub
James Brendan Barlow, Manager
579 West Street
1 Juke Box
2 Pool Tables
3 Videos

Northeast Cinemas LLC dba East Bridgewater 6
225 Bedford Street
3 Videos

m/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the request of James Brendan Barlow of Brendan's Pub, 579 West Street for an extension of hours on December 31, 2003 to 2:00 a.m.

Board of Selectmen -3- December 22, 2003

m/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the renewal of the following Common Victualer License for the period of January 1, 2004 to December 31, 2004:

LICENSE #26
Northeast Cinemas LLC dba East Bridgewater 6
225 Bedford Street
Hours: 11 a.m. - 1 a.m. - 7 days

M/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the following meeting schedule for the year 2004:

PROPOSED MEETING SCHEDULE - YEAR 2004


Monday, January 5 Monday, May 3 Tuesday, September 7
Monday, January 12 Monday, May 10(ATM) Monday, September 13
Tuesday, January 20 Monday, May 17 Monday, September 20
Monday, January 26 Tuesday, May 24 Monday, September 27

Monday, February 2 Tuesday, June 1 Monday, October 4
Monday, February 9 Monday, June 7 Tuesday, October 12
Tuesday, February 17 Monday, June 14 Monday, October 18
Monday, February 23 Monday, June 21 Monday, October 25
Monday, June 28

Monday, March 1 Monday, July 12 Monday, November 1
Monday, March 8 Monday, November 8
Monday, March 15 Monday, July 26 Monday, November 15
Monday, March 22 Monday, November 22
Monday, March 29 Monday, November 29

Monday, April 5 Monday, August 9 Monday, December 6
Monday, April 12 Monday, December 13
Tuesday, April 19 Monday, August 23 Monday, December 20
Monday, April 26 Monday, December 27

M/Greene, s/Walsh, a unanimous vote, move to approve the request of Frank Ray, Boy Scout Troop 29 for use of the Town Hall parking lot for a bottle and can drive on Saturday, January 3, from 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

BOARD DISCUSSION
Mr. Hardy announced that the Board had received letters of interest from several persons relative to the Town Administrator Search Committee; stated that the Selectmen's representative will be David Walsh, Department Head, Ryon Pratt, Government Study Committee representative Theresa McNulty; also received letters from Scott Hastings, Bernard Smith and Steven Brown.

Mr. Hardy stated that both Mrs. McNulty and Mr. Hastings are on the School Committee and felt that there was representation there; also noted that he likes to see new people appointed who express an interest in serving the town and suggested that Mr. Brown and Mr. Smith be appointed as the Citizens at Large on the committee.




Board of Selectmen -4- December 22, 2003

M/Hardy, s/Greene, a unanimous vote, move to appoint the following to the Town Administrator Search Committee:

David L. Walsh - Selectmen Representative
Fire Chief, Ryon Pratt - Department Head Representative
Theresa E. McNulty - Government Review Study Committee Representative
Steven Brown - Citizen at Large
Bernard Smith - Citizen at Large

Mr. Hardy stated that he would designate Chief Ryon Pratt as Chairman of this committee; noted that Chief Pratt had served on the last search committee.

Reminders:

Recycling & Trash Pick-up week

Town Hall closes at noon on Wednesday, December 24 and will remain closed on Thursday and Friday.

Executive Secretary Report

Intersection Project - Mr. Haines discussing 106/18 intersection at Elmwood with MA
DPW District 5

BOARD DISCUSSION

Package Store Sunday license - new law was discussed. Board went over memo from Mrs. Grabau relative to the new law and the openings. It was agreed that applications will be sent to all Package Store licensees and that the Board will vote at January 5 meeting on Sunday openings.

CORRESPONDENCE

Letter from Halifax Water Department thanking E.B. Water Department for assistance when they lost one well due to pump failure and E.B. allowed them to tap into our water supply.

Minutes of the COA meeting on December 16 which recommended Board of Selectmen to appoint Jane Haines as interim COA Director. Board requested Town Counsel to look into who should be appointing authority for the positions at the COA office.

M/Hardy, s/Walsh, move to close Open Session and go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing pending litigation, deployment of security personnel and investigation of misconduct and will not be returning to Open Session.
VOTE: Yes - Greene, Walsh, Hardy; a unanimous vote in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 p.m.





___________________________________Clerk
Board of Selectmen



 
Town of East Bridgewater, 175 Central Street, East Bridgewater, MA 02333-0386
Virtual Towns & Schools Website